Day 184 –

Ok, so maybe the tasks posed in yesterday’s quiz weren’t exactly as easy as I made it sound. Some of them, I would actually be kind of surprised to see correct answers at all. I will give out a random prize, which you will be able to win with a little luck as long as you

a) hand in some answers and

b) get at least one correct, or be creative in your answers

To give you a bit of a glimpse into my thought processes, I decided to ask gatherer for a random card and illustrated it for you. Quite beautifully I might add.

This is the card I drew:

raging river

This is a card most of you have probably never heard about. I still think it is kind of possible to get to the correct answer, as in this case you simply have to figure out what’s going on in the picture, and then do a gatherer search for any card that might have a name that implies this picture.

So, what is going on? Well, those black shapes? They are, of course, mountains (duh!). Also, they aren’t really relevant, but they were on the original artwork, so I kept them (ok, they did not look like that. But hey, I made them cooler!). The blue thing complaining in the center – that’s a river.

The card we’re looking for therefore, is, naturally, this:

I’m a simple person. It’s all mostly a simple game of association. Mostly though, I should probably become an artist, since there is such an elegant beauty to my artwork that the original was lacking. I’m a genius!

I need to get to bed as soon as possible, as I have a very long day tomorrow, that starts very early (roughly 5 hours from now), and haven’t slept very much over the past couple of days. I’m finally going to my first go tournament in two weeks, and I want to be as well prepared for it as I can. Right now I’m probably overdoing it a little, and am once again in danger of burning out – especially as I am still incredibly frustrated at my rate of improvement, despite the fact that pretty much everybody is telling me it is absolutely amazing. What I’m really looking forward to though, is trying out the game with my little brother. When I sat in front of the board, and he came, sat down opposite me and placed a stone on an empty point (not even a stupid move), I was amazed at how much he had picked up by watching just 2 minutes of a game. I don’t expect a two-year old to really understand good strategy, or how to count territory and such, but I do think that we can do something with that board that will stimulate him in ways other than killing bad guys on the Wii does (though far be it from me to refute the intellectual advances a toddler can make by frying Hydra agents with an Iron Man suit).

I’ll try to think of something at least partially cool I can write tomorrow, though in return I want some more entries to my quiz. I know you can do it guys, don’t leave me hanging here.

3 thoughts on “Day 184 –

  1. The riddles were well balanced for my taste, some were quite obvious, others really tricky. Im really looking forward to the solutions. What im now asking myself is whether the spoken text in the pictures were supposed to contain any clue at all, because i dont see any connection in the example given here?

    Like

Leave a comment